Thank You, Coby

22 Nov

When my friends and I made the slightly inebriated decision to spend a post happy hour dinner at Hooters, I didn’t know that it would be the day to change my life.  Literally.  I’m not sure if you can fathom the pain (emotional and physical) of a Hooters meal.  Hilariously enough, not too long after what I will refer to as “The Hooters Incident” or just “The Incident”, the show “Undercover Boss” featured Coby Brooks-CEO of Hooters.  How appropriate! 

Not surprisingly, around the same time as The Incident, I tipped the scale at a lifetime high.  Eeeek.  I am, and have been a card-carrying member of The Yo-Yo Dieters Club since circa 2001, however I knew that my experience with food during The Incident transcended a mere diet.  I experienced a toxicity in my body brought on by food that I never wanted to experience again.  I don’t blame Hooters for creating the foods that it does…well, yes I actually do.  Before I begin a long diatribe, lambasting American chain-restaurant culture, I will stop and say that The Incident changed my life by forcing me to think critically about every morsel I put in my mouth. 

As I climb off my soapbox, I want to say that I recently hit a major milestone in my weight loss journey. (HALFWAY!!!!) I refer to it as my weight loss journey, because I don’t view my post-Hooters relationship with food as a diet.  Everything seemed to fall into place all at once.  We had a local foods expert give a talk at work, I began a trial membership with a CSA type farm delivery program, Food Inc was on Showtime…the list goes on and on. 

I hope you will follow me through my journey as I reminisce about the past ten months as well as keep you posted with my recipes, weight loss progression and any other morsels of goodness that I have picked up along the way. 

xoxo,
the happenstance gourmande

Leave a Reply

