Setting Goals and Dreaming of the Future…

9 Mar

As I think about my long (10-day) journey ahead, I am planning for the future. Besides thinking about how good I will hopefully feel, pounds I will hopefully shed, how great my skin will hopefully look, etc., I am thinking HOW WILL I GET THROUGH THE NEXT TEN DAYS? This is my last day of being able to eat and what am I toasting out my chewing skills with? The usual fruit salad and veggies. Except today, I’m hoping to keep it raw. If I didn’t love produce so much, I’d be screaming.

Last week I picked up a great deal for Nusta Spa from Bloomspot. I have been dying for a spa day and what better way to use this deal than as a reward for a job well done, right? In addition, I’ve had my eye on a super cute watch (pictured to the left), so why not add that to the pot of gold at the end of this beet, kale, carrot, and apple colored rainbow?

This evening, after a trip to the grocery store, not only will I be doing a test-run of the juicer but I’ll also be doing a little testing of my body. In an effort to really monitor my progression, I am going to take detailed measurements (eeeeeek) and keep tabs daily to see how things shrink up. I’m happy to report that after almost a whole week of eating vegan (and eating avocado and peanut butter with wild abandon) I have lost 6 lbs. on the nose! I feel incredibly less bloated, less hungry, and have eliminated my crackbury mini egg-cravings. I just hope I can keep the cravings in check when there’s no broccoli to munch!

As for the measurements I’ll be taking, here they are from exercise.about.com:

  • Bust: Measure around the chest right at the nipple line, but don’t pull the tape too tight.
  • Chest: Measure just under your bust
  • Waist: Measure a half-inch above your belly button or at the smallest part of your waist
  • Hips: Place tape measure around the biggest part of your hips
  • Thighs: Measure around the biggest part of each thigh
  • Calves: Measure around the largest part of each calf
  • Upper arm: Measure around the largest part of each arm above the elbow
  • Forearm: Measure around the largest part of the arm below the elbow.

 Wish me luck tomorrow! I am definitely going to need it…

xoxo,
the happenstance gourmande

One Response to “Setting Goals and Dreaming of the Future…”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. whoa, we’re halfway there. ohhooohhh living on a pear…(day 5 of the cleanse) « The Happenstance Gourmande - March 14, 2012

    […] 9 inches! (Note – these are not just stomach inches, but include thighs, arms, calves, etc. –here is my post where I list the measurements.) Now, I know that many of these inches and pounds will return when I start eating again..but not […]

Leave a Reply

