Juicing: It’s a very good thing…(day 4 of the cleanse)

13 Mar

I have been dreading day 4 of the cleanse since last week. Why, you ask? It’s not because of the misery that I’ve heard generally accompanies days 3 and 4. No, it’s not that at all. The reason I’d been dreading today is because I knew that we had our monthly team lunch meeting at work. Two months ago we had lobster and filet with a mushroom puff pastry. (Please note that I ate approximately 6 lobsters — just chalk it up to boosting my overall salary/compensation package.) Last month we had sea bass and roasted beets and brussel sprouts. You can obviously see why I have been in a panic about today. When I found out that the menu for today was to include braised short ribs and polenta, grilled squash and garlic mashed potatoes, you can really see why I would be frantic.

Thanks to Martha Stewart (and the Connecticut correctional facility for giving her a timely release), I was able to survive the luncheon from hell. Last night I decided to test out Martha’s Green Vegetable Cocktail:

  • 1 cup packed spinach leaves
  • 1/2 cup flat-leaf parsley leaves
  • 1 rib celery
  • 1/2 cucumber
  • 1/2 ripe pear
  • 1/2 green apple
  • 1/4 ripe papaya, seeds removed
  • 1 piece (1 inch) ginger

I didn’t feel like paying $2/lb. for an 8 lb. papaya so I decided to swap in about 3/4 cup of cubed cantaloupe instead. This juice was absolutely incredible. The parsley imparts a mint-like quality to the juice balanced by the subtle sweetness from the melon and coupled with the crisp freshness from the cucumber…it was really amazing.

I am pleased to report that even with being able to smell the savory lunch of my colleagues, I had no temptation. I was actually SATISFIED with my juice. I’m sure you are probably skeptical, but I promise. I was hungry when I walked into the conference room, but when I left, I felt as happy as if I’d just eaten a real meal.

Now, that my friends, as my favorite homemaker would say, is a very good thing.

xoxo,
the happenstance gourmande

Leave a Reply

