Beware the ides of March, unless you’re all juiced up…(day 6 of the cleanse)

15 Mar

I’m pretty sure that if Julius Caesar had juiced up a nice tall glass of green, he would’ve smelled Brutus and Cassius’ plan a mile away. Well, maybe not, but I have to say that my sense of smell has been insane the last few days. I’m chalking it up to the cleanse. Whether it be perfume, food, or cigarettes smouldering at the end of the block, my nose has been registering unlike ever before. I really feel like all of my senses are on point. In addition, when I looked at myself in the mirror this morning, I noticed that the whites of my eyes are much whiter than they were last week. Not that my eyes glow yellow or anything, but the whiteness of them is definitely apparent.

Day 6 is shaping up to be easy breezy. Last night, I made a fantastic juice that had such a great color. It was a blood-red and magenta combo. Recipe below.

Straight from the Senate Floor (sorry, that’s gross)

  • quarter wedge of green cabbage
  • red apple
  • tart green apple
  • large red beet
  • 3 carrots

I had a green-ish juice for breakfast this morning (usually I have a fruit-only juice) and I feel like I am on drugs. I am almost jittery with energy. It is SO bizarre. Recipe below.

Crack Coc-umber

  • 1.5 cup of green grapes (no stems)
  • 2 cucumbers (or one huge cucumber)
  • ripe pear
  • half lime
  • half lemon

I really don’t have so much to report on day 6 except that it definitely feels that the ball is speeding downhill. I feel great, tons of energy, not hungry, etc., etc. If you haven’t gathered the idea yet, everyone should try to do this cleanse for at least 3 days. I feel so good. We should all allow our bodies to be so lucky and give it a break. Don’t betray it. If you think you can’t do it, all I have to say is, e tu Brute?

xoxo,
the happenstance gourmande

2 Responses to “Beware the ides of March, unless you’re all juiced up…(day 6 of the cleanse)”

  1. Anna Rosen March 16, 2012 at 5:07 pm #

    Nura – i just watched “fat sick & nearly dead” and was very inspired. Keep up the good work girl!

    • Happenstance Gourmande March 16, 2012 at 5:58 pm #

      thanks anna! you should def try it…the juice is amazing 🙂 can’t wait to see you at the reunion!!

Leave a Reply

