TGIF – thank god it’s fruity…(day 7 of the cleanse)

16 Mar

So, I’ll have to admit. Today is probably the first day that I’ve really been thinking about food. I’m not saying that I’m having any difficulties–things are still just as easy as they have been–but in the back of my mind, I know that munching is just a few short days away and I think my stomach caught wind of that notion.

Honestly, I think the “worst” is over…(knock on wood)…but I haven’t really experienced a “worst.” The work week is drawing to a close and with the weekend, I will be able to test out all kinds of juices to fight my boredom. I think the main reason that my food tinglings (tinglings because yearnings and  cravings are far too strong of words for what I’m feeling) are starting to emerge is because in fear of having a bad juice at work, I’ve been pretty much making the same delicious, trusty stand-bys each day. I wouldn’t EAT the same thing everyday without dreaming of a little somethin’-somethin’ on the side, so why would I expect that I could DRINK the same thing each day and not get bored?

In order to jazz myself up for this gloomy looking Friday, I decided to make a berry blast in a glass (in honor of the season finale of Jersey Shore of course).

I stocked up on pounds of berries last weekend, and in my efforts to make green juices, have been neglecting them in the fridge. This little treasure is definitely a great way to mix up my juices and make me feel like I’m  having a special treat.

Also lurking in my fridge were some broccoli stems from my penultimate supper’s roasted veggies. Here’s a very quick and important note about cabbage and broccoli stems. They are surprisingly super sweet. Almost as sweet as an apple but with a little bit of earthiness underneath. Who knew? If you decide to juice green cabbage, just be careful — that stuff STINKS in the trash.

I had a vision at work yesterday that some sort of stone fruit would go very well with my broccoli stems. The vision was sent from an angel. All I can say is…you can take the food from a foodie, but the recipes will never stop!

Here is my recipe for what I’ll call:

A Juice with Great A-plum

  • 2 ripe plums
  • cup of green grapes (no stems)
  • 2 tart apples
  • half cucumber
  • 2 large broccoli stems
  • quarter head of green cabbage

 Happy Friday!

xoxo,
the happenstance gourmande

Leave a Reply

