Teaching my shrunken self to chew again

20 Mar

March 20th not only signifies the start of spring but also the restart of my digestive system after a 10-day hiatus. I was terrified last night that I would wake up in the middle of the night and have to decide if 2 a.m. was an acceptable time to rev up my gustatory machine. Luckily, I slept straight through the night. I didn’t wake up to the sound of my stomach grumbling…instead I woke up to the sound of rockets red glare and bombs bursting in air.

Actually it was the sound of a CRAZY morning thunderstorm.

Super pumped to finally munch on something, I rinsed off a bunch of green grapes, sat down with the Today Show and a cup of tea, and dug in. Oh man…they were SO delicious. No wonder some of my juices had been so sweet…these were the most perfect grapes I could imagine. I  didn’t devour them by the bunch-ful as I normally would, but instead slowly chewed each grape for awhile before swallowing. I felt great. Until I didn’t. About 10-12 minutes after eating 10 grapes, my stomach was grumbling and gurgling like crazy, and I felt slightly food poisoned. My grand fast-breaking plan included a fruit salad for breakfast and a nice veggie salad for lunch and maaaaybe some roasted veggies for din. Brrrt. Guess again.

an ultimate spring kick-off luncheon

Today is shaping up to be a juicy fruits only kind of day. Not that I’m complaining! Also, I feel fine now. I think my stomach’s little freak out this morning was like starting up a car that hasn’t been touched in awhile — it might rumble when you put the key in the ignition, but pretty soon it’s purring down the highway.

As a final tally, I think it’s important to note that I have lost a grand total of…(drum roll please)…

9.2 lbs. since the start of the cleanse

15.2 lbs. overall since starting vegan

21 in. since the start of the cleanse (that is a measure of overall inches, including forearms, thighs, calves, etc.)

As a reward to myself, I booked a TWO HOUR-long massage at Nusta Spa for Sunday. Something called the Journey of the Senses massage. Here’s a description from the website:

The ultimate in relaxation, this massage ritual includes an aromatherapy steam treatment, emulsifying hand and foot wrap, hot and cold stone therapy, and your choice of Calm or Deep massage.

I am so proud of myself and cannot wait.

xoxo,
the happenstance gourmande

Leave a Reply

