I’m a mean green fighting machine…(day 2 of the cleanse)

11 Mar

I woke up this morning super early, although with the time change I guess it was more like regular wake-up time. I was surprisingly not starved. I didn’t feel like I had gone a whole 24 hours without eating. I barely felt like I’d gone 8 hours without eating. I made my morning hot water with lemon, relaxed with my new Vanity Fair subscription, chatted on the phone, and then made a fruit juice with green grapes, strawberries, and apples. After an $80 Giant grocery store run (I don’t think I can afford to do the cleanse AND shop at my normal Whole Foods–not to mention the willpower of dodging delightful aromas wafting from the hot bar) where I picked up additional supplies to hopefully last me for the week, I had tons of energy when I got back home. I put a load of laundry in and even felt an adderall-esque urge to clean out my fridge.

As lunchtime approached, I knew that it was finally time to try the Mean Green juice. In an effort to avoid the debacle of yesterday’s sludge, I decided to follow Joe Cross’ recipe to a tee. Here’s the recipe:

6 Kale Leaves
1 Cucumber
4 Celery Stalks
2 Green Apples
1/2 Lemon
1 piece of ginger

Surprisingly, it is PRETTY GOOD. I am not sure that I will call it enjoyable, but I’ve definitely had no problem drinking a tall glass of the stuff. I would describe the flavor as mildly sweet and slightly carbonated. Somehow the mixture of celery, lemon, and ginger is giving it a fizzy flavor. I don’t know if fizzy can actually be used to describe a flavor BUT I swear it tastes fizzy. It is not actually fizzy. That would be weird.

I feel great today. I don’t feel amazing like I have had some sort of life-altering moment and I look pretty much the same, but I don’t feel worse than normal which I think equates to great when subtracting the usual three squares a day. As for the detox, let’s just say that I know that the wheels are in motion. My stomach has made me acutely aware.

Tomorrow will be my first day of working while juicing and I’ve heard that day 3 is the worst day. I am a little nervous (I already know of 2 pressing projects for tomorrow morning, blah) but I think as long as I feel like I do today, I will be a-ok.

Wish me luck!

xoxo,
the happenstance gourmande

Leave a comment